Cork Education & Training Board honours high achieving Students

January 19, 2015

Cork ETB Acknowledges Top Leaving Certificate & Leaving Certificate Applied Students in Cork at Annual Award Ceremony.

High achieving Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Applied (LCA) students were honoured recently by Cork Education and Training Board (Cork ETB) at our Annual Awards Ceremony held in the Rochestown Park Hotel.

Students and their parents were welcomed by the CE, Ted Owens, who praised them for their hard work and dedication in the months and years leading up to their exams. Thirty three students received medals for achieving between 615 and 575 points while thirty four students received special commendation certificates for achieving between 550 and 570 points. Thirty one LCA students were also awarded special commendation certificates for achieving between 85% and 93% in their examinations.

“I would like to congratulate the outstanding achievements of our 2014 Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Applied students. This year we are honouring 99 students from across 20 Cork schools, for their outstanding results in the 2014 Leaving Certificate and Leaving Certificate Applied. 21 students are also being awarded Student of the Year tonight. These are students have maximized their potential and contributed to the school/centre community throughout their tenure as a student. This Awards Ceremony gives the Board and staff of Cork ETB the opportunity to acknowledge and honour the trojan work of students in our schools across Cork City and County,” said Ted Owens.

James Cotter from St.Colman’s Community College, and Anna Ní Raghallaigh from Gaelcholáiste Choilm, were both awarded the highest award, The Board Medal, for achieving 615 points in the Leaving Cert.

LC1 LC2 LC3 LC4 LC5 LC6 LC7 LC8 LC9 LC10 LC11 LC12
Cllr. Patrick Gerard Murphy, Chairman Cork Education and Training Board, congratulating Coláiste Pobail Bheanntraí (Bantry) students who received awards at the Boards Leaving Certificate Awards Ceremony at Rochestown Park Hotel. Included are Owen O'Flynn (Barra O'Briain Medal), Caroline O'Sullivan (Dick Langford Medal), Caoimhe O'Leary (Tim Looney Medal) and Viktoryja Bazhko (Student of the Year Award). Also included is Denis O'Sullivan, Deputy Principal.

Go back