Adult Basic Education

Adult Basic Education Service

 

AdultBasicEdThe Adult Basic Education Service  (ABE) provides small group and some 1-1 tuition in reading, writing and maths to adults with a basic skills need for adults with literacy difficulties. Generally NFQ levels 1-3 are offered.

Programmes Offered by the Adult Basic Education Service (Literacy)
You can learn on your own with a tutor or in a small group.
You can learn at your own pace, at a time that suits you.
Tuition is centred on the learners needs.
Tuition is provided in a relaxed, friendly environment.
The service is confidential
The service is free.
Certification is available.
Intensive Tuition for Adult Basic Education (ITABE)

 

NALAlogo1_ABE Literacy and ITABE

“Literacy involves listening, speaking, reading, writing, numeracy and using everyday technology to communicate and handle information. It includes more than the technical skills of communication (reading, writing and spelling): it also has personal, social and economic dimensions. Literacy increases the opportunity for individuals and communities to reflect on their situation, explore new possibilities and initiate change.”

Adult Basic Education Service Contacts

 

Cork City Area
Ables Adult Literacy Scheme
Ms Fiona Long,
Resource Worker,
Community Services Building,
Carnloch Drive,
Glen Avenue,
The Glen,
Cork.
Emailfiona.long@corketb.ie
Tel: 021 – 4553180 or 086 – 6087111
Altrusa Literacy Scheme
Ms Mary Ryder,
Adult Literacy Organiser,
Ms Sandra Brett, Resource Worker,
Douglas Street Education Services Centre,
107 Douglas Street,
Cork.
Email: mary.ryder@corketb.ie
Tel: 021-4255542 or 086-0487404
Ballyphehane – Read Write Now Literacy Scheme
Ms Cathy Kelly,
Resource Worker,
Community Resource Centre,
Lower Friars Walk,
Ballyphehane,
Cork.
Email: cathy.kelly@corketb.ie
Tel: 021- 4319085 or 087-6849150
Churchfield / Farranree Write Together
Ms Margo Kelleher, Resource Worker,
Ms Sally Hayes, Resource Worker,
Education & Rights Centre,
5 Churchfield Ave,
Churchfield,
Cork.
Email: margo.kelleher@corketb.ie
Email: sally.hayes@corketb.ie
Tel : 021-4307969
Mahon Basic Adult Education Support Scheme
Ms Bríd Murphy,  Adult Literacy Organiser,
Ms Cathy Kelly, Resource Worker,
Mahon Family Resource Centre,
Mahon Drive,
Mahon,
Cork.
Email: brid.murphy@corketb.ie
Tel: 021- 4358866 or 086-8577820
Mayfield Write On Adult Literacy Scheme
Ms Mary Chambers,
Adult Literacy Organiser,
Ardbhaile Community Centre,
Old Youghal Rd,
Mayfield,
Cork
Email: mary.chambers@corketb.ie
Tel: 021 – 4500434 or 086-8237078
Travellers / Roma Literacy Scheme
Ms Sandra Brett,
Resource Worker,
St. Vincent de Paul,
Tuckey Street
Cork.
Email: sandra.brett@corketb.ie
Tel : 086-1731274
ESOL Co-ordinator
Ms Mary Ryder,
Adult Literacy Organiser,
Email: mary.ryder@corketb.ie
Tel: 021-4255542 or 086-0487404
South Cork ~ West Area
Ballincollig ABE Centre
Ms Sarah Donovan,
Resource Worker,
Emailsarah.donovan@corketb.ie
Tel: 021 – 4878899 or 086 – 8808057
Carrigaline ABE Centre
Ms Frances McInerney,
Development Worker,
Email: frances.mcinerney@corketb.ie
Tel:  086-8238757
Macroom Adult Basic Ed. Service
Ms Sheila Scully,
Development Worker,
Emailsheila.scully@corketb.ie
Tel: 086 – 8239097
South Cork ~ East Area
Ms Marian O’Mahoney,
Adult Literacy Organiser,
Email: marian.omahoney@corketb.ie
Tel:  086-8212257
Cobh ABE Centre
Ms Tracy Kearney,
Resource Worker,
Emailtracy.kearney@corketb.ie
Tel: 021 – 4855472 or 086 – 8238772
Midleton ABE Centre
Ms Veronica Bowen,
Resource Worker,
Email: veronica.bowen@corketb.ie
Tel:  021-4621567 or 086-8238769
Youghal ABE Centre
Ms Cathy O’Mahony,
Resource Worker,
Emailcathy.omahony@corketb.ie
Tel: 024-93674 or 086-8238746
North Cork Area
Ms Nuala White,
Resource Worker,
Email: nuala.white@corketb.ie
Tel:  086-6823717
Charleville  ABE Centre
Ms Mary O’Connell,
Development  Worker,
Emailmary.oconnell@corketb.ie
Tel: 087 – 6720018
Fermoy  ABE Centre
Ms Ruth Doherty,
Resource Worker,
Email: ruth.doherty@corketb.ie
Tel:  025-33225 or 086-8238758
Kanturk/Newmarket ABE Centre
Ms Elaine Cronin,
Resource Worker,
Emailelaine.cronin@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-3019375
Mallow ABE Centre
Ms Marion Hennessy, Resource Worker,
Ms Nuala White, Resource Worker,
Emailmarion.hennessy@corketb.ie
Emailnuala.white@corketb.ie
Tel: 022-42322
Millstreet Adult Learning Centre
Ms Áine Knightly,
Resource  Worker,
Emailaine.knightly@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-7707301
Mitchelstown  ABE Centre
Ms Nuala White,
Resource  Worker,
Emailnuala.white@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-6823717
West Cork Area
Bandon ABE Centre
Mr Raymond O’Regan,
Resource  Worker,
Emailraymond.oregan@corketb.ie
Tel: 023-8842870
Bantry St. Gobans
Ms Irene O’Driscoll,
Development  Worker,
Emailabebantry@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-8239140
Castletownbere ABE Centre
Mr Nicholas Caffrey,
Resource  Worker,
Emailnicholas.caffrey@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-8239147
Clonakilty ABE Centre
Ms Margaret Lavin,
Resource  Worker,
Emailmargaret.lavin@corketb.ie
Tel: 023-8836968 or 086-8239089
Dunmanway ABE Centre
Ms Dorothy Beamish,
Resource  Worker,
Emaildorothy.beamish@corketb.ie
Tel: 023-8856708 or 086-8239149
Schull ABE Centre
Ms Ethna Duganzic,
Resource  Worker,
Emailethna.duganzic@corketb.ie
Tel: 086-8239150
Skibbereen ABE Centre
Ms Jane Gill,
Resource  Worker,
Emailjane.gill@corketb.ie
Tel: 028-40296 or 086-1909694

 

Intensive Tuition for Adult Basic Education (ITABE)

ITABEThe ITABE project is an initiative of the Department of Education & Skills, to deliver through ETB Adult Literacy Services, a model of tuition in adult literacy and basic education for adults who are educationally disadvantaged. This intensive programme is offered on the basis of 6 hours (delivered in two or three sessions per week) for 14 weeks. The course covers listening, speaking, reading, writing and number skills.

The aim of the programme is to provide participants, in groups of 6 – 8 students, with an opportunity to access 6 hours of tuition per week over a 14-week period as opposed to the average of 2 hours per week currently provided.

A number of these projects have been allocated to each of the 16 ETBs.

This is a joint project led by the ETBI, in partnership with NALA, with the co-ordination of the project provided by Dublin & Dún Laoghaire ETB.

etbilogo_ABE Literacy and  ITABENALAlogo1_ABE Literacy and ITABEDDLlogo

The ITABE project will be supported by an Advisory Group comprising representatives of the Department of Education & Skills, the ETBI, the ETB Literacy Forum, the National Adult Literacy Agency and the National Centre for Guidance in Education.

 

Who are the course participants?
Participants will be 18 years of age or older and not attending full-time second level education. They must be experiencing a severe degree of literacy or numeracy difficulties and have a literacy standard below QQI Level 3.

 

What might the course content include?
The majority of tuition hours will be allocated to modules most directly related to literacy/numeracy provision. The course content should include a combination of the following:
  • Communication Skills: Reading / Writing /Spelling /Numeracy /Oral Communication
  • Learning to Learn: Understanding Learning Styles / Study Skills / Educational Guidance
  • Introduction to IT: Basic Computers / Internet

 

Will there be an option of accreditation?
Participants will be given the opportunity to gain QQI accreditation if they so choose and if it is available. All participants must have their literacy/numeracy skills assessed at the beginning and end of the course using appropriate methodologies.

 

What additional supports are available to participants?
Adult students taking part in ITABE programmes are entitled to access the Adult Education Guidance Initiative – AEGI in schemes in which guidance projects have been established.Since ITABE projects will be provided by local ETB Adult Literacy Services participants will also benefit from the existing supports provided by these services.

 

How can I find out more?
If you would like any further details please contact the National ITABE Coordinator
Ms Marian Lynch
Dublin & Dún Laoghaire ETB,
1 Tuansgate, Tallaght,
Dublin 24.
Tel: 01-4529600
Email mlynch@ddletb.ie

or

Ms Sandra Brett,
Cork Education & Training Board.
Tel: 086-1731274
Email: sandra.brett@corketb.ie

 

Share

Menu