About Cork ETB

Establishment of Education and Training Boards (ETBs)


CETB Logo Arising from the commencement of the Education and Training Boards Act, 16 Education and Training Boards (ETBs) were established on 1st July 2013. Upon establishment, the ETBs had responsibility for the delivery of primary, post primary and further education in line with their predecessor VECs. The Education and Training Boards Act 2013 was passed in May 2013. The Act provides for the dissolution of Vocational Education Committees (VECs) and for the establishment of the 16 Education and Training Boards (ETBs) through a process involving the merger of some of the 33 existing VECs.  Following the amalgamation of former County and City of Cork VECs, the Cork Education and Training Board (CETB) was established.

Establishment of SOLAS


The Further Education and Training Act 2013 was signed into law in July 2013. The Act provides for the establishment of SOLAS and the dissolution of FÁS. The legislation also provides for the gradual transfer of FÁS training centres and training staff to the newly formed Education and Training Boards. The Cork Training Centre located in Rossa Avenue, Bishopstown is now under the remit of Cork Education and Training Board (CETB). SOLAS was established on 27 October 2013, bringing about the dissolution of FÁS. SOLAS will work with the ETBs to support the development of appropriate further education and training programmes and curricula and the sourcing of further education and training interventions from the private, public and not for profit sector.

Cork ETB Administrative Offices

Head Office,
21 Lavitt’s Quay,
T12 HYT9
Tel: 021-4273377
Email: info@corketb.ie
Cork Training Centre_About CETB page
Cork Training Centre,
Rossa Avenue,
T12 EE94
Tel: 021-4856200

Location Map for Schools/Colleges/Centres under the remit of Cork ETB

Click the map to view an interactive google map of locations under the remit of Cork Education & Training Board. You can  zoom in/out to see multiple locations in a specific area.